• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Eye Relief (1 Viewer)

fornacino

If long eye relief is a desirable feature in binoculars, what other feature is sacrificed or compromised optically by maximizing it? Is long eye relief more difficult to achieve with, say 7x42 than 10x32? Or is it the other way around.

If long eye relief is a desirable feature in binoculars, what other feature is sacrificed or compromised optically by maximizing it? Is long eye relief more difficult to achieve with, say 7x42 than 10x32? Or is it the other way around.

I am by no means an expert on this but generally speaking I think it is the size (focal length) of the oculars and the design of the oculars that determines the length of the eye relief. Wide field oculars also usually have shorter ER than standard size oculars.

My experience is that most 42mm binoculars have longer ER than 32mm binoculars.

A 7x42 binocular usually has longer ER than an 8x42 and 10x42 binocular. Probably because, all things being equal, the oculars for the 7x have a longer focal length than those for an 8x or 10x.

Oculars for 32mm binoculars are smaller and have shorter focal lengths than oculars used on 42mm binoculars and and this results in shorter eye relief.

Bob

Last edited:
With f/4 objectives.
7x42.
Focal length of objective 168mm.
Divide by 7.
Gives 24mm focal length eyepiece.

10x32.
Objective focal length 128mm.
Divide by 10.
12.8mm eyepiece focal length.

For the 7x42 a simple eyepiece will give a long eye relief.

For the 10x32 a simple eyepiece will give short eye relief.