• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping with straight apo televid 77? (1 Viewer)

tima

Hello everybody,

I am quite new in this hobby and I have learned so much thanks to this forum
One thing I am wondering is if I can do Digiscoping with my straight view APO 77 (with an adapter 2 from Leica + Zoom20X60X + Coolpix 5000). Every digiscoper seems to use an Angled body to do that. More stable connection probabely?
I haven't yet the adapter and will not buy it if it does not work. Any information or experience welcome.

Tima
Brussels, Belgium

Hello everybody,

I am quite new in this hobby and I have learned so much thanks to this forum
One thing I am wondering is if I can do Digiscoping with my straight view APO 77 (with an adapter 2 from Leica + Zoom20X60X + Coolpix 5000). Every digiscoper seems to use an Angled body to do that. More stable connection probabely?
I haven't yet the adapter and will not buy it if it does not work. Any information or experience welcome.

Tima
Brussels, Belgium

I have this scope, but I don't digiscope. The only problem you are likely to encounter is that you'll have to rise the tripod a bit higher for comfortable focussing. So if you need to extend the center column a bit higher, that means you may get more blurs due to tripod instability. But the main reason for all the angled scopes you read about, is that they have become fashionable for birding. The pros and cons of the two models have been discussed extensively on BF.