• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

KOWA vs OPTICRON (1 Viewer)

Marcin21

Hello,

I am new in this wonderful forum :D I am going to buy a scope :) (to 600£). My friends recommend me:

KOWA TSN 821 20-60 ZOOM and new OPTICRON ES80 GA ED 20-60 ZOOM

I do not know which choose. Which will be better ? Have You got any experience with these scopes? Please help :)

Best Regards,

Marcin21 said:
Hello,

I am new in this wonderful forum :D I am going to buy a scope :) (to 600£). My friends recommend me:

I do not know which choose. Which will be better ? Have You got any experience with these scopes? Please help :)

Best Regards,
I once owned the Opticron and have to admit it's a fine scope for the money - and very popular. I know a local leading birder who owns the Kowa you mention and he swears by it. I suppose out of the two, I go for the Kowa, because of the excellent pedigree. Try them both - that's the best way to choose, really.

Only if you don't mind a straight scope, Warehouse Express sell the Zeiss 65 + 30xW for £599-00 - a bargain price for a top brand and wonderful scope.

Last edited:
Marcin21 said:
Hello,

Best Regards,
Welcome to Birdforum, Marcin.. I settled on the ES80 +zoom lens.and the 23mm eyepiece. :t: :t: :t:

Hi Marcin, I see this is your first post, so my I extend a warm welcome to Bird Forum, I'm sure you will enjoy it here.

D

i can thoroughly recommend the kowa 821,I owned this lovely piece of kit once,though I used it with the 32xw lense.