• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

ebirder Course - review (1 Viewer)

Pitvar

Further to a one day course I attended with Marcus Conway yesterday I just wanted to post a review of the day - which I found invaluable. As a complete novice to proper use of DSLRs and as a relative newcomer to birding I was a challenging subject but Marcus dealt with all the daft questions in his stride.

The day covered all the aspects of digital photography I could cope with as a beginner including: the proper use of Aperture Priority, spot focus and spot metering and after each new topic was introduced there was plenty of opportunity to practice.

The best thing was the amazing subjects Marcus found for me to practice on including Goshawk, Turtle Dove, Nightjar and the full range Bempton has to offer [with additional local expertise provided as well!]

I would have no hesitation in recommending Marcus's courses and will be booking on to another workshop once I've practiced the new skills from yesterday.

Attached is what I'm calling an arty Nightjar shot [well it was dark] and a Whitethroat shot taken after I'd had the benefit of the first few hours of tuition and which is probably my favourite shot I've taken to date.

And no I'm not related and neither am I on commission!

Attachments

• Whitethroat.jpg
    Whitethroat.jpg
    181.7 KB · Views: 354
  • Nightjar.jpg
    Nightjar.jpg
    127.5 KB · Views: 279
Excellent shot of a Whitethroat.