• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Problems with Auto focus (1 Viewer)

ammadoux

Registered doux
I have been doing photography for 20 years with manual focus cameras, only started using AF SLR on September 2008, and now almost a year i have three major problems:

1- How to focus on a moving subject, i am not speaking of a kind of predicted movments like a flying gull towards or away from the photographer, the C-AF mode can deal with it nicely and perfectly if the the photographer have enough experience, i am referring to the kind of movement that comes from the wind, like when a bird on a top of a branch with moderate strength wind, how to deal with that, what i do i switch to MF and always works fine.

http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/261100/ppuser/71763

http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/261774/ppuser/71763

2- In case of macros, like shooting flowers that are constantly moving with surface winds and breeze, even if you turn into C-AF and put on the image stabilization mode, the release button would not be pressed as the image is out-of-focus, so what i do is also turn to MF and works for me fine.

3- when shooting faint subjects on the infinity distance like the morning moon, you will not be able to focus unless you use MF.

http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/262265/ppuser/71763

in general i don't get successful focus for infinity objects with AF