• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is this a California Gull or a Herring Gull? (1 Viewer)

tomjenner

Back in November I saw and photographed this bird at the Rio Jiboa in El Salvador. I identified it as a first-winter California Gull based on the pink basal two-thirds to the bill and on the dark greater coverts that are evident in the photos of both the sitting and flying bird. I have subsequently been told by someone with far more knowledge in this area than me that it is in fact a Herring Gull. I have very little experience with California Gulls or with the American subspecies of Herring Gull, so I am looking for someone who can confirm or refute this identification.
Thanks

Tom

Attachments

• California Gull Rio Jiboa Nov 04 (3).JPG
    California Gull Rio Jiboa Nov 04 (3).JPG
    28.1 KB · Views: 265
  • California Gull Rio Jiboa Nov 04 (13).JPG
    California Gull Rio Jiboa Nov 04 (13).JPG
    44.7 KB · Views: 270
I am not a gull expert, but just looked at these two birds in Sibley and from that would say yes to American Herring and nay to California gull. A couple of points that Sibley makes are
-California should have all dark primaries, herring has pale inner primaries (easily seen in the flight shot)
-California should have all dark greater coverts, but the dark feathers I see in flight are the secondaries, the coverts are all quite light.

HTH
Niels

hi tom,