• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Memorable Moments/When did you (1 Viewer)

pduxon

Quacked up Member
This may have been done before if so sorry

What are your most memorable bird moments. I'm not really thinking of that once in a life time bird(but that might be it), but the little things that made you smile or moments of pure satisfaction?

Also, when did you realise that Birding was going to be THE hobby (obsession) for you ?

Pete, when I was a callow high school student collecting snakes, somehow I hooked up with the Caloosahatchie Bird Club in Fort Myers, Florida, and a very kind older couple, whose surname I have ungratefully forgotten, adopted me. I went on all their trips, I listened and learned, and at last, during one trip, with my heart in my mouth, I mentioned that a Little Blue Heron we were looking at might be a Reddish Egret-- shaggy neck-feathers, ivory bill base. I don't know if it really was or not, but all those adult, experienced birdwatchers hummed and considered, and decided that it was indeed a Reddish Egret. And I felt proud, I felt like I could contribute something to this hobby.

I try to keep that in mind as I fail on each ID quiz at BF.

Finding a Wryneck at Minsmere whilst taking group of thirty around having them stand & applaud me.

Blush Blush!
I knew this was to me my biggest Hobby when I started earning money by it.
Colin.

Found a Bonaparte's but no one around to see it too and it scarpered quickly.