• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon 450D Settings (1 Viewer)

Have just purchased a Canon 450D, 2ND Hand Borg ED76/ f6.6 (FL 500mm)Refractor and a Kenko 1.4 Pro 300 DGX Teleconverter. This is my first time using a DSLR.
Was wondering as to what camera settings best suit this combination? |=)|

Last edited:
Try spot metering for little birds that never fill the frame, and centre weighted for large birds that do.

I found the metering is more accurate with centre weighted than spot, but there are times when spot is required IMO.

Get the fastest shutter speed you can without accidently introducing ISO noise.. Paul C likes to shoot 800 ISO and this will get fast SS in lower light and super fast SS in very good light.

You should get focus confirm with your scope, depending on aperture of your scope. I can get focus confirm on my SW80 ED ( same as Paul C's ) @ f7.5 but as soon as i stick a Barlow on ( or TC ), i lose that. If your scope is say, f5.6, you will get focus confirm. but the 1.4 Kenko will add 1 stop ( so your max ap will be down to f8 ) and you may find it wont focus confirm...you might be lucky though, as its only a smidge past f7.5 and i get FC at that aperture.
Depends on the scope i suppose, and the light it lets in

I have rediculous eyesight ( at the moment ) so any help i can get i take it. I expoxied a Focus Confirm EOS/EF adapter to my ext. tubes and it works a treat.

Sometimes, if the subject is a long way off and small in the frame, i use live view x10.

Last edited: