• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping with android phone vs with mirrorless DLSR- advice please? (1 Viewer)

I'm a bird about to buy my first scope - trying to decide between Nikon Monarch Fieldscope, Celestron Regal M2 and Vortex Diamondback - all 20-60x, 80 to 85mm objective, angled.
I plan to use it when visiting wetlands and beaches to identify birds in the distance.
I'm not a pro photographer by any means but I like to take photos for ID and for my records and memories. I have a Canon EOS RS mirrorless camera and I got excited by the idea of being able to use this with a scope, and thought this may influence my choice of scope.

But before I spend hours trying to find compatible adaptors available in Australia (we have a much smaller market), is it even worth it? I got the impression from a couple of threads that digiscoping with a smart phone camera gives as good an image, or better than connecting a DSLR to the scope, or that I might get a better shot with one of my old point-and-shoot cameras.
Certainly using my phone would be quicker and more convenient, and cheaper (I already have a thing for digiscoping with binoculars that might fit scope) but I would use my DLSR on the scope at least some of the time if the resulting image would be significantly better than with mobile. Is it a big enough difference in image quality to justify the extra cost of adaptor and possibly more expensive tripod?