• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Alpen 20-60x80 Spotting Scope (1 Viewer)

mrh1958

I have one of the Alpen model 788 w/soft case spotting scope that is brand new and am thinking of listing it here, are these a good scope? I haven't used it yet but I have an old Spacemaster that does all I need. I know this one lists elsewhere on the net for 499.99. I will sell mine for quite a bit less than that, let me know what you think. I use Paypal only.

Hello,

Welcome to BirdForum! I found reviews of this spotter online. Some people had problems with the tripod that was supplied with this spotter, I guess it is now plastic instead of metal. Also there are sample variations in most all spotters, if it was me I would get it out of the box and look through it and see if 60x looks good, in good seeing of course. If it looks good, say so.

I missed it you do have it for sale. Good luck selling it!

Last edited:
I'd be interested what the views are like, in yrs gone by the scope got some strangely high review marks by 1 group..seeing as though it has no ED glass

I'd be interested what the views are like, in yrs gone by the scope got some strangely high review marks by 1 group..seeing as though it has no ED glass