• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Brand Spanking New!! (1 Viewer)

Sdbirder88

Hello everybody. My name is Jorden and I am brand new to the world of birding. It has been something that I've always been interested in but was never really exposed to. My interest has grown and I've decided to start pursuing it on my own. Currently I've been spending a lot of my time trying to learn all of the common species of birds I might encounter. I would like to have atleast a general idea before going out with a birding group and making a complete fool of myself. My efforts haven't been rewarding. I still have problems distinguishing different groups like the difference between a warbler and a chickadee or a titmouse and a jay. The sub-species of gulls have been very hard to distinguish as well. I am currently using the Merlin app to help me and have a couple of different bid quizes on my phone, but the variety of birds that exists, and their subtle differences typically stump me. I'm sure that it will become more obvious to me with time, but any and all advice would be much appreciated. I am excited to finally get out there and be able to sit on a bench somewhere with a cup of coffee, some binos, and my birding journal and finally start making my counts, but I feel like I still have a lot of studying to do before I get there. Thank you for accepting me intonyour group and I look forward to all that I can gain from your collective knowledge!!!

You'll catch on ;)

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t: