• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Given the choice of buying Vintage Leitz Wetzlar vs New Oberwerks Roof binos (1 Viewer)

lofapco

Trying to decide which to buy: Vintage Leitz Wetzlar vs New Oberwerks Roof Binoculars

This is my first post on the forum and of course it is asking a question of you experts. I am new to the binocular hobby after buying a set of Oberwerks 25x/40x 100mm Binoculars for my balcony deck where I have views of mountains for miles. I also live in a designated "Dark Sky" community and astro viewing around here is amazing. I have a very old pair of Canon Camera Company Japanese made porro 7x35mm binos that I have been using in my yard but now I have decided to spend $300 on a quality pair of everyday roof binoculars to grab and go with. I was pretty sure I was going to buy the Oberwerks 8x42 Sport ED binos seen in this link:

https://oberwerk.com/product/oberwerk-sport-ed-series/

However, I saw a pair of Vintage 1969 Leitz(Leica) Wetzlar Trinovoid