• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hedgehogs in daylight (1 Viewer)

Niknakjamiemac

Hi, put this in Other Wildlife - should have used this one though!

What does it mean if you see your local hedgepig still up and around a few hours after dawn? He/she was moving quite freely and didn't look unhappy, but I am new to them and always thought it meant they were in trouble if you saw them in the day?

Also, we have been feeding them (we have two at least) the proper hedgehog food - the one that is advertised as food that no other animal will eat- but the blackbirds are getting it before we get up and take it in! Does anyone have any good ideas for food that only our hogs will enjoy? The birds have their own food, but they are enjoying the hogs grub and get up before me!

Hi, put this in Other Wildlife - should have used this one though!

What does it mean if you see your local hedgepig still up and around a few hours after dawn? He/she was moving quite freely and didn't look unhappy, but I am new to them and always thought it meant they were in trouble if you saw them in the day?

Also, we have been feeding them (we have two at least) the proper hedgehog food - the one that is advertised as food that no other animal will eat- but the blackbirds are getting it before we get up and take it in! Does anyone have any good ideas for food that only our hogs will enjoy? The birds have their own food, but they are enjoying the hogs grub and get up before me!