• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hi everyone (1 Viewer)

Owls

United Kingdom
Hi folks, I am not an expert by any means but I know most birds that are found in or visit the UK.

I am a keen angler so there is always the opportunity to see plenty of different varieties of bird, especially at quiet places.

Over the years though, I have only seen a handful of kingfishers. Normally they are extremely shy but today I was sitting quietly when one decided to perch on my rod tip. Luckily I had my phone to hand and took a quick snap.

The picture isn’t the greatest quality and may have lost a bit of the colour. It’s also not that clear as you expand it. I am 99.9% sure it’s a kingfisher but it lacked the brilliant blue they normally have.

Just wondered if perhaps they lose a bit of colour at certain times of the year or something and it also seemed larger than I expected. Sorry the picture isn’t of greater quality. Any thoughts much appreciated.

4627B77D-2A6E-4B5D-99EC-7F3747579711.jpeg

Hello Owls and welcome to BirdForum! Yes a Kingfisher, probably an immature bird, their plumage tends to be a bit duller than the adults'. What a lovely experience!

Chris

Hi Owls and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators.

How wonderful for you to have that kingfisher make use of your rod for a viewpoint!!! Some people have all the luck.

You can read more about these beauties in our Opus article: Common Kingfisher - BirdForum Opus

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I look forward to hearing your news.