• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Identification- Cooper’s Hawk? (1 Viewer)

Megeli

Canada
Hi all! I live in Quebec, Canada. This morning I saw 4 birds that looked like Cooper’s Hawks, but I’m not sure. I’m new to birding after moving to the country a few months ago.

When these birds were calling, it looked like they were jumping up and down in the branches. Is this a normal behavioural trait for hawks?

Thanks!

It would be a great help in I D ing this Hawk if you could get a picture of it.

Hi there Megeli and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum (y)
We're glad you found us and please join in wherever you like. ;)

It's early nesting season for Cooper's hawks. Two together would be expected, four in a group is surprising any time of year except for siblings sharing a nest.

"Jumping up and down in the branches" sounds like hungry youngsters demanding attention. It's totally the wrong time of year for that, though. (Even for owls, I think - they may hatch in February but need several weeks to fledge)

It's early nesting season for Cooper's hawks. Two together would be expected, four in a group is surprising any time of year except for siblings sharing a nest.

"Jumping up and down in the branches" sounds like hungry youngsters demanding attention. It's totally the wrong time of year for that, though. (Even for owls, I think - they may hatch in February but need several weeks to fledge)