• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zeiss Diascope 85 T FL (2 Viewers)

chaos85

Norway
Hi all.

I have the chance to buy an older Zeiss Diascope 85 T FL.

It got a 20-60 eyepiece.

It looks like it's in great condition and the price is around 1000 $.

Is this still a good spotter for that price?

I am new to spotting scopes and I want something I can use for digiscoping and that I don't have to upgrade in a few years.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20231231-094750.png
    Screenshot_20231231-094750.png
    352.5 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:
Hi chaos85,

That model is exactly what I bought when I started with birdwatching lots of years ago. Then I took a rest of the hobbie (to be honest I had a chid and he was never so keen to nature, so we stopped going out). As he is now old enough to stay alone at home, we resumed the hobbie. I decided to upgrade to the latest and greatest (Swarovski Atx 115) and sell the Zeiss.

Before selling the Zeiss I have the chance to compare the newcomer with it, and to be honest, I was disappointed, because the Swaro was better, but not as much as I expected, but just a bit better.

So my answer is, sure the Zeiss will deliver very good views today and it can cope with even the biggest Swarovski very well.

As for the price, I think it is fair. I sold mine around 1000€ also (with some accessories though).