• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding ethics: feeding (1 Viewer)

brd

Greetings-
A question about birding ethics. I will preface by saying that I am relatively new to birding, but have a fair amount of outdoor experience. My general outdoor philosophy is to Leave No Trace, and observe instead of interact (stole this one from a website on birding ethics).
So I was a bit taken aback the other day as a birder friend in Taiwan was telling me about a place he knows of where the chance of seeing a Mikado Pheasant (I believe it was Mikado, but to be honest, there's a chance it was Swinhoe's) was 100%, because the owner of the inn, who is described as an eco-friendly birding type, leaves food out for the pheasants. He has set up blinds where you can wait and watch as this otherwise shy and difficult to find bird comes out of the woods, nibbles the food, and then leaves.

When I heard the story, my initial reaction was that it didn't sound "right." Its encouraging unnatural behavior, dependency, etc. And where's the challenge for the birder? It almost seems like going to a backyard zoo.

But, then, on the other hand, my parents have bird feeders, as do many if not most birders. And "the Big Year" film shows several instances of luring birds with dead fish, both on land and at sea. So maybe my outdoor ethics are not in line with the birding community, or just not well-evolved?