• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Any advice appreciated πŸ™ (1 Viewer)

Hello all, I have just stumbled across the forum which has been a great help but need a bit of guidance please?

My wife and her family have always been into birds and wildlife. My wife recently announced that she would like to start some photography for fun and has been looking at cameras. This opened a world that I have zero knowledge on but after a week on YouTube I have gained 5% knowledge πŸ™ˆ.

My wife is torn between a Nikon P950 due to zoom options however does have its disadvantages from what I can see being size and lack of versatility.

She also likes the Sony A6100 which seems like a neater solution and allows room to grow by adding additional lenses as required which is a whole other world I need to understand.

Has anyone got any experience with the above so we can get an understanding of real world use in our lovely UK weather and set expectations.

We are open to options and doesn’t have to be one of the above. We set ourselves Β£1000 as a budget.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

I believe, if you are expecting to be purchasing new, that you are better served with a camera with built in lens at the price range you are talking about. The sony would take up most of the price range just for the camera body and you would only be able to afford a lens that would disappoint with regards to reach.