• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Are Guided Birding Holidays fun? (1 Viewer)

pjacobs

United States
I've been birding regularly for about 5 years now and I go birding on almost every trip I take, but I've never done a holiday dedicated to birding. I'm always very tempted by these "8 days in Spain", "14 days in South Africa", "3 weeks in Colombia" type trips. They sound like great fun even if they are a little expensive.

However, I realise the times when I enjoy birding the most are when I'm out solo, or with other non-experts, and I have to do all the hard work myself: finding a good location (or my local patch), finding the birds, identifying them in the field, or getting a decent photo and then heading home and going through my field guide to do the detective work. I've been out on day trips with guides a few times and they obviously do most of the hard work themselves and they will almost always find birds I would have not noticed and put me in places where I can see more birds or rare birds. While I do enjoy these days out, and I enjoy seeing rarities, and I do enjoy growing my life list, it is never as satisfying as going out and doing it myself.

So I'm curious.... how enjoyable are these big guided trips to Spain, Colombia, South Africa, etc.? A holiday in a beautiful country is (almost) always fun, but is the birding enjoyable?

Do guides generally point out everything quickly, or do you get a chance to make discoveries and IDs on your own?