• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon EOS 1D Mkiv Guidance (1 Viewer)

Dr Tickle

As a newbie on this forum I have quickly learned there is much expertise out there in the use of Canon cameras. I have been birding for around 12 months now and have a few shots using both a 30D and latterly a 7D. My lens is a Canon 100-400 f4.5/5.6 L IS USM.

I've never been completely happy with the results from the 7D, especially when compared to those I got with the 30D. I've now managed to get myself a 1D Mkiv and I'm looking for some tips for using the new combination that will help me to get some good shots.

Any guidance will be gratefully received.

As a newbie on this forum I have quickly learned there is much expertise out there in the use of Canon cameras. I have been birding for around 12 months now and have a few shots using both a 30D and latterly a 7D. My lens is a Canon 100-400 f4.5/5.6 L IS USM.

I've never been completely happy with the results from the 7D, especially when compared to those I got with the 30D. I've now managed to get myself a 1D Mkiv and I'm looking for some tips for using the new combination that will help me to get some good shots.

Any guidance will be gratefully received.
Strange you did not get on with the 7D compared with the 30D - I have had both and for bird photography I would rate the 7D as a way better Camera myself - I still have a 40D and that is also light years away from the 7D IMHO (but the 40D was better than the 30D). What exactly were you not happy with on the 7D?