• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Confused which camera body with 500PF (1 Viewer)

stoop

Japan
Hello. I have been dreaming for the last two years about getting a new camera body to go with the Nikkor 500 f5.6 PF. I have been using it on a D500, but often find the field of view a bit narrow and thought maybe an FX model would suit it better. I admit, I am bit of a Goldilocks, because I often enjoy any of the Nikon bodies I've had, but I've bumbled around trying to find something "just-right". I regret I sold my D800 body a couple of years ago and have wanted to replace it. Of Course, the D850 seems the most obvious choice, but it is 4 years old now, and I have more choices. One day I think D850, then the next I think Z6ii or Z7ii. I can't decide. I don't want to get a D850 now in case they announce a D880 next week. Oh, dear. I also was a little bothered by big files with the D800, so I'm wondering whether the Z6ii might be just right. I will keep my D500 paired with a naked Nikkor 300 f4 PF and hang it over my shoulder for close fleeting bird encounters. I'm thinking the Z6ii might be better than the D850, or Z7ii on dull winter days with the 500PF. I hope everybody isn't as confused as I am now...If you have advice, I'd be happy to hear it, please.

Choices, choices... just to let you know Nikon discontinued D850...
Still, I do believe the D850 is a fantastic wildlife body, and now maybe you'll find a great one on discount. Remember that Nikon continue servicing their gear for at least 15 years after discontinuing.