• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Noctivid eyecups (2 Viewers)

I own a couple of Swarovski EL bins - I'm a professional ornithologist working internationally in hot and humid climates with bins used almost daily - in five years the rubber armouring has completely fallen off both my ELs twice and had to be sent to Swarovski for repair. Colleagues with other brands have had no such issues. Until Swarovski start using non-biodegradable armour their bins are not tools that can withstand regular field use in hot weather, so I require an alternative.

Hearing good things about Leica build quality I ordered the UVHD+ 8x32 and 7x42 to try. Brilliant optically, but just not useable for me. I don't wear glasses and when using bins jam the fully extended eyecups into my sockets. But the eyecups are far too short on the 8x32 to do this, and whilst marginally better on the 7x42 it's still giving me blackouts. I've had no such issues with Swaro or Zeiss bins. I sent both back, and am now planning on ordering the Noctivid 8x42 to try. I know everyone's face shape is different, but to save me the hassle I was wondering if any members could advise if the Noctivid has similarly short eyecups to the Ultravid series?

So they have too much eye relief, they’d work better for you with longer eye cups? I’m a big Leica fan, love the image, but the 32 size BNs and Ultravids are too finicky. The 42 size are fine, as are my 7x35 Retrovids. I tried the 10x42 Noctovids in the store and they were fine. Like you, I also don’t wear glasses with my bins, but I have deep set eyes, for what that’s worth.