• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Optolyth TBG80 - CP 4500 (1 Viewer)

Frosty

Hello all,

I'm very new to this digiscoping business but am finding it facinating. I was looking to buy a digital camera in any case, and my friend had the above scope not getting much use. I bought the CP4500 last week and have taken a few hand-held snaps this weekend. I have followed the settings for the camera as suggested by Andy Bright, conditions were good today - but struggled to get any decent shots. Does anybody know if the above combination works or not. The scope has a 30WW eyepiece. I have looked at some adapters, but are keen for some advice before I spend any money if a different scope is required.

I have copied a couple of snaps below, problems seem to be focussing / camera shake - not sure which. Any advice gratefully received.

Regards

Gary

Attachments

• DSCN0268 copy forum.jpg
    DSCN0268 copy forum.jpg
    57.4 KB · Views: 294
  • DSCN0597 copy forum.jpg
    DSCN0597 copy forum.jpg
    81.1 KB · Views: 308
I used the old Optolyth TBS80, and although I got some good shots, I found the lack of high definition glass made a difference (now have the old swaro TB80 Hd), I would imagine that as long as your scope is in good condition it will work well with the camera. my website has plent of pics taken through the optolyth (all of them so far) and I have a few in my gallery here, so you can see what I got with an older scope of the same make.

Oh and welcome to BF by the way.