• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

out of focus (1 Viewer)

cressi

hi this picture of a spotted flycatcher was taken with a zeiss diascope 85 t fl
with a nikon coolpix 800 attached the scope was focused precisley and the camera swung into position the settings on the camera were manual with spot focus,using the macro symbol and 50x on the scopes eyepiece so why has it focused on the berries in front of the bird,waht did i do wrong.

regards.

scott robertson.

(cressi)

Attachments

• spotted flycatcher.JPG
    spotted flycatcher.JPG
    32.2 KB · Views: 983
Hi Scott

I'm brand new to digi-scoping but from my first day out this has been a potential problem. I quickly learned that even a few inches can affect focuss as such magnification. What i have already learned is where time allows to try all different focussing methods. With this specific shop i would probably have had most success by switching the focus to manual, then using the 2x extend-a-view sun shade focus with the scope, checking accuracy through the LCD - 2x helps greatly here.

I'd focus on the birds eye.

My first trip saw a very obliging Heron. I was able to film from approx 50 or so yards using the birds eye-ring as a focus-aid. Since the Heron can stay motion-less for a while, I was able to try focussing on AF, also Infinity (with adjustment from scope) and Macro - again pressing the cable-release half way and fine-tuning the scope for the birds eye.