• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Moth Traps (1 Viewer)

Dave G

Hi all,
I've noticed a few people are running moth traps, could you let me know what you are using and what sort of results you are getting.
I am about to build a MV 125w trap and a 22watt Actinic (in case the MV is to bright for the neighbours).
I am a newbie to this so be gentle with me... ;)

Dave

Hi there
I have an on-loan 125w MV trap that I run in my tiny town garden whenever the weather looks right. I use garden chairs to keep the light from shining on the neighbours's windows. I have caught about 70 macro and 11 micro species so far, since April. The biggest catch I have had was 54 one night last week, and that took me two hours to work through. I hate to think what would happen if I went out into a good habitat and caught hundreds!! I find that I need to refer to websites (UK Moths and the Leics and Rutland Moth Group) to look at their collections of photographs a lot, especially for micros, to back up the pictures in Skinner and Goater. And I have two very helpful experts that I email with descriptions of anything I am unsure of.

Good luck with your mothing
Steve

Hi Steve,
Thats the rub isn't it...what if I get hundreds!!!
I am going the 125MV route as better to release unknown than not catch at all. So I will save the actinic project for a later date.
I have still to get the Skinner book so I am relying at the moment on photos of subjects (if unknown) and on line resources.
Will let you know how I get on with a few pictures hopefully.

Cheers
Dave