• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

A quick hi! and a question (1 Viewer)

jadeic

Hi all

My name is Dave and I hail from inner city Derby UK.

I have no experience of bird watching but I enjoy watching birds as I plod around the local park with the dog. Is it my imagination or are birds making a comeback? Certainly around here, after many years of dwindling habitat, I am sure I am noticing more birds and more varieties - not that I am that good at identification but simply notice species that I have not seen since my childhood several decades ago.

I was prompted to join in here yesterday by one such sighting - is it at all possible that the bird perched on the top of my birdtable was indeed a sparrowhawk!! Certainly deathly hush fell over the garden while it was present. Any thoughts would be welcome.

I'll tune in again soon - who knows I may yet get hooked. At the very least I stand to learn (and you are never to old for that) and make my daily walks more informed.

Nice to meet you all

Cheers

Dave

Hello Dave and welcome to Birdforum.net

It is indeed possible it was the local sparrowhawk you saw, no doubt waiting for a tasty morsel to fly through your garden. :)

Regards

Welcome to BF Dave.

Haha...come on Darbysheer!!!
Are we the most represented County on BF?
Probably the gobbiest..... :)
Dead good, dead funny...dead Derby.

Dave me duck.