• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Can a Dslr camera take a decent pic at distance. (1 Viewer)

senatore

I am a bit of a novice using a DSLR camera and telephoto lens (Canon 350D/Sigma 170-500 lens) but my better pics (showing fine detail) have all been taken when the birds are quite close ( not more than 10 metres) and the results when the birds are distant have so far been disappointing even after editing/cropping.

Have you had good results when using similar equipment to mine with distant birds?If so can you post a copy and say how far away it was so I can be encouraged to persevere.

Max.

senatore said:
I am a bit of a novice using a DSLR camera and telephoto lens (Canon 350D/Sigma 170-500 lens) but my better pics (showing fine detail) have all been taken when the birds are quite close ( not more than 10 metres) and the results when the birds are distant have so far been disappointing even after editing/cropping.

Have you had good results when using similar equipment to mine with distant birds?If so can you post a copy and say how far away it was so I can be encouraged to persevere.

Max.