• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

distance required for birds in flight shots (1 Viewer)

blackburnian

Owl Nut
S.O.S.....

Equipment: Rebel XT, 100-400 IS lens, New bird wanna be photographer (birder for many yrs).

OK. I just purchased my equipment 3 weeks ago and loving the static pictures and understand that I have to be close to my subjects to fill the frame.

I have been birding for many yrs and know the raptors behavior (don't let you get close, take off against the wind ect...). I can't seem to get satisfying shots (feather detail ect) when shooting these birds. The photos i've senn on this forum blow me away and was wondering how you fill the frame?

Do you just sit on the side of the country rd waiting for a close fly by? Or do you go to hawk observatories during migration where your sitting in a blind 200 feet up?

I'm new, not frustrated but would like to have all the tips in hand to improve the technique.

Any tips will help.

Marc

Hi Marc,
any flight shots I manage to fluke are invariably of birds that are close enough (or more) to fill the centre focussing ring. I use a 20d with the same lens as you and my wife has the exact same equipment as you and this seems to ring true for both cameras.
Ofcourse, you can't beat siiting somewhere discrete and letting the birds come to you. It's all about developing your field skills and that is only something that will come with practice.
Keep at it and good luck.

hi there,