• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Expert opinions needed! (1 Viewer)

peabee

Advice please...

A couple of years ago I was looking for binoculars for other half and self, and, having scoured online reviews and dealers in an attempt to keep the budget down finally went for a pair of Barr & Stroud 8x42 Sierras for her at around £80, and, that being the only 8x42 Sierra the supplier had, I opted for the 10x50 version.

Apart from being a very amateur but enthusiastic birdwatcher I’m an extremely amateur... er... skywatcher (why does that sound familiar?), so the 10x50s seemed to fit the bill in both camps.

Time moving on, and having in the interim also purchased a Canon Powershot SX40 HS, by use of which the quality of my bird photos has increased dramatically- inasmuch as I’m actually now able to zoom in and show detail rather than point to a fuzzy blob on my MacBook screen and say: “No, it really IS a green woodpecker...”, I feel I should also up the ante optics-wise. (I keep meaning to post photos on Birdforum by the way-including some taken on Lundy earlier this year, but apparently need to reduce their size. Is there an easy way of doing this?)

The Canon was a compromise between 1) getting high quality DSLR images using the relevant equivalent zoom lens or 2) being able to take reasonable quality pictures and still be able to afford to eat for the rest of the year. And the year after that.