• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

reporting possibles (1 Viewer)

jape

i am 99% convinced i saw an arctic redpoll in lymm a couple of weeks back.
i am new to this so didnt fuss as i am not a box ticker anyway, just mentioned it in my thread 'daily delight in lymm'
i dont have a camera and by the times i put down the binos it had flown
it was only 7 metres away
i saw it again, close to same spot later that day or next i cannot remember, not since

i did mention it to a friend

then asked about it yesterday, not conclusive

but today i see it is a 'rare bird report'

should i have said something more? notified someone? or do you need photos and witnesses? i am sure there are mistaken IDs but would you rather have them or nothing?

i wouldnt want to set hordes of birders off on trips but now i have looked at the rare bird site gallery i am, as i said, 99% sure. i dont really care about others approbation or opinions on sightings but i do wonder about the 'rules' if they exist

Redpolls are a tricky group and even experienced observers would be cautious with a claim of Arctic unless it is a very clear, big white one!

A

yup, as i said, im not interested in claiming anything, i am just reporting my interest and enjoyment. i spend 12 hrs a day seated at french doors and glance up at any movement.