• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Red Rocks Marsh NNR, Hoylake (1 Viewer)

Jane Turner

http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.s...&mapp=newmap.srf&searchp=newsearch.srf&dn=513.

I've been birding here for just short of 30 years... here is some insider knowledge

The reserve is q small phragmites marsh, brackish dune slack, bordered by the rather exclusive Royal Liverpool Golf Club (soon to host the British Open and take a still dimmer view of trespassing birders) and the Dee Estuary. It was established as an SSSI to protect a dwindling population of Natterjack Toads Bufo calamita There are a number of Alders, Hawthornes and Apple trees, which together with a small stand of Poplar in the NW corner of the golf course and the gardens of the Stanley Rd Houses, provide a small amount of cover for migrant birds.

With 270 accepted species of bird, it has the biggest list of anywhere in Cheshire. It is primarily a site for visible passage, being located at the NW corner of a peninsula. Regardless of season nearly all birds observed are moving south. The major paradox of the site is that the conditions that are most likely to produce a good bird are also most likely to mean it will be a fleeting visit. I know a lot of people who have never seen a good bird at Red Rocks. That is because they turn up mid afternoon after the news hits the local bird lines. Unless its raining, foggy or the bird is an Acrocephalus warbler or perhaps a pipit, it is long gone. It’s a great place to find your own birds though. Here is a summary of what you can see and when to go.