• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello from Eureka, CA, USA (1 Viewer)

therevvagrant

Humboldt County Birder
Hello,

Picked up this e-mail and thought I'd start getting involved with birders back at home. I've been birding throughout California for the past 13 years, living in far Northern California (6hrs north of San Francisco) in Eureka. Came here to get a Master's degree in Wildlife from Humboldt State University. Got a job chasing Northern Spotted Owls, became a Wildlife Biologist and for the past seven years I've run my own bird consulting firm LBJ Enterprises (for once I don't have to explain the name choice).

Back in the mid-eighties I went to University of Essex and birded occasionally with the UEA crowd. The two birders whose names I specifically remember were Larry Wheatland (who got me started) and Gavin Haig. They were both East Londoners I lived in West Dulwich and Ramsgate as a kid. Stodmarsh and Sandwich Bay obs are my favorite local patches. Now I enjoy the yard (my garden) and Humboldt Bay National Wildlife Refuge. Things a pretty perfect I have a CA bride, two boys 5 and 8, and they locally re-broadcast the World Service on the FM dail.