• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello. please excuse a beginer. (1 Viewer)

A Wright

can anyone please help me identify this bird. probably easy but i am new to this and cant find it in my book. unless its a juvenile goldcrest? sorry about the photo but he did'nt hang around for long. Thanks for your help in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_3247.jpg
    IMG_3247.jpg
    152.8 KB · Views: 591
Last edited:
Certainly not a juv. Goldcrest - any chance of stating when and whereabouts the pic was taken? I'm very worried about this one ;-)

It was taken this afternoon in my garden. this is the only other pic i got if it's any good.

Attachments

• IMG_3248.jpg
    IMG_3248.jpg
    154.7 KB · Views: 433
I have a feeling this could be an escaped cage bird , perhaps of the chat or flycatcher family. To be honest I do not know , but a stab in the dark a female Indian blue robin.

Aberrant Robins can anyone expand. or am i being really dumb?

Not at all! Aberrant Robins are in fact extremely unusual. I'm sure I am not the only one here who has looked at more Robins than cars on roads and has never seen a Robin anything like the bird in your photo! Aberrant would just mean "different then the norm" and in your bird it looks as if its missing red/orange pigmentation. There is a possibility however, that its not a Robin and I am also sure I'm not the only one wondering! Structurally your bird really does look like one though and unless we are talking about a first record for the WP or an escape I suspect that it is a Robin.