• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

advice wanted on kyocera SL400R camera (2 Viewers)

boingbirder

Hi Everyone,
If anyone could help me answer a few questions in relation to the Kyocera SL400R i would be very grateful.
I am new to digiscoping and have started with this camera (off Ebay). I seem to get reasonable results
However, the camera now appears to be on the blink( literally!). The picture on the monitor flashes on and off, while making a clicking sound. Then within seconds the battery sign indicates 'low battery' and the the system shuts down..This does not happen in playback mode.
So, is the camera completely kaput? Or is it fixible? And if so, by whom?
If not fixible I am tempted to replace it with another SL400R ( cost is a factor). But this time I would want to add an external battery pack. Does anyone still supply them?
Last question! Is the old Nikon Coolpix the only other internal zoom camera around?

Cheers!

Don't worry, there's nothing wrong with the camera. I have the Contax sl300, essentially the same camera, which had exactly the same issues. The batteries were notoriously bad and only lasted half an hour or so, depending on how the camera was used. And this was when the battery was new, as it gets on a bit, the battery life gets worse. I use an external battery pack bodged together with stuff from Maplins, i never charge the original although it has to stay in the camera. I get over 250 pics out of it which is more than enough for me and it lasts a full days use.

Stick with it, they're great cameras and i get some excellent results with it.