• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Common blackbird keeps my cats and us in stress (1 Viewer)

k.a.charlotte

Hello!

I have very little knowledge about birds, so if someone could help me, I would really appreciate it!

For the past week, every single day, a common blackbird was chirping basically all day long, all around our house and garden.
We haven't had this before, and we don't know much about birds, but so far we figured he must be protecting his nest.
However, the problem is he is really aggressive - whenever my cats are out, he instantly comes and chirps really loudly and annoyingly, so by now they are scared to go out. The bird even has company sometimes. And he attacked us humans as well! :eek!:

What am I supposed to do? Is there any way to get him out of our property? Or how much time will pass until he goes away? :brains:

Thank you!

EDIT: The birds nest is not in our garden, and cannot be accessed by the cat.

Last edited: