• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Did Merlin Bird ID really hear these in my garden? (1 Viewer)

Hello

I am totally new to birding and have zero experience. So please go easy on me. 😬

For the past couple of weeks I have been using the Merlin Bird ID just to see what bird life is around. I was actually really surprised that there was so much variety.

This morning at about 5:30am the window was open and I was awake so I pressed the record button and set my phone on the window still. The app recorded the following.

Eurasian Blackbird
Eurasian Blue Tit
Common Wood Pigeon
Great Tit
Carrion Crow
Eurasian Wren
European Robin
Common Chaffinch
Yellow Legged Gull
Eurasian Magpie
Eurasian Jackdaw
European Greenfinch
Eurasian Collard-Dove
Song Thrush
European Goldfinch
House Sparrow

Most of the above its recorded before so I guess they are present in the local area.

However it also claims that it heard the following....

European Serin
American Robin (We get lots of American visitors in Canterbury but they usually want to visit the cathedral and don't turn up in my garden at 5:30am 😂)
Common Grackle
Northern Cardinal
Hooded Crow

I have been told that the app is not always that accurate. Is it possible that any of the birds in the second group would have been in or near my garden (Please stop laughing). I live about a mile from the sea on the North Kent coast. Sort of 2 miles from Whitstable and 5 from Canterbury.

Thanks for your help.

Alex