• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

House sparrows dominate my yard...(Northern California) (1 Viewer)

Crow19

United States
Hi everyone -- I've been birding for just a few months and have setup various feeders and a nice birdbath. So far my most common visitors are Mourning Doves, Scrub-Jays, and House Sparrows. It seems like more and more sparrows are showing up and I'm starting to worry that they are keeping other types of birds away. They empty a feeder extremely quickly! I would like to attract some other kinds of birds...any tips?

Thanks!

I was hoping to see an answer to this one, my story is almost exactly yours, more and more sparrows every day, seemingly. I did put up a finch feeder in addition to my first feeder and am getting more of those now, and I have been adding more sunflower seeds to the mix I feed and that seems to bring in more jays and house finches as well. I just put up a suet feeder but only the jays are hitting that as far as I've seen. Have you figured out anything more in the two weeks since you posted?

I was hoping to see an answer to this one, my story is almost exactly yours, more and more sparrows every day, seemingly. I did put up a finch feeder in addition to my first feeder and am getting more of those now, and I have been adding more sunflower seeds to the mix I feed and that seems to bring in more jays and house finches as well. I just put up a suet feeder but only the jays are hitting that as far as I've seen. Have you figured out anything more in the two weeks since you posted?