• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Indian birds field guide for a beginner (1 Viewer)

TomSmith

My girlfriend is going to Delhi for three months in the summer and has asked me to get her a field guide to Indian birds. She's a birdwatching novice and the only guides I've been able to find seem a bit intimidating - she wants something more "like an I-Spy book". Does anybody have any recommendations for a good first bird book for India?

Thanks,

Tom

Birding books for India

I've been birding only for a couple of years and am in India.

I began with Birds of the Indian Subcontinent by Bikram Grewal (http://books.rediff.com/bookshop/buyersearch.jsp?lookfor=Bikram Grewal&search=1) and found it easier to dip into any time and didn't mind the time it took to zero in on a species because it would be a pleasant browse. After a year of (even slow) birding, it felt inadequate so on a recommendation got myself A Field Guide to the Birds of India by Krys Kazmierczak. I find its initial bird-chart very helpful in focussing on a bird of interest. Its plate illustrations are probably overly coloured but it appears comprehensive so helpful. In my quest for a comprehensive photographic guide, I picked up A Photographic Guide to the Birds of India, again by Bikram Grewal and although I find it more complete than the earlier book by the author, its photos are like small thumbnails and some too hazy to warrant printing in any useful guide. I'd still recommend it though for its friendly format. I haven't used the Inskipp Field Guide and know that it has long fan following.