• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Kowa 88A star test (1 Viewer)

mauhler31

United States
Hi folks! I am new here and also new to birding as well. I got inspired to take on this new hobby on a recent trip where I took a wildlife tour and was amazed by the magnification and clarity you can get from scopes. After some research, I decided on the Kowa and was able to get the new 88A on sale. It just arrived today and I wanted to get feedback on these star tests and if there appears to be any glaring problems.

Please keep in mind that this is my first time doing a star test, so there could be some problems with my setup:
  • These photos were captured using a DSLR without camera lens. Unfortunately the DSLR digiscoping adapter was not in stock, so on the camera I connected an extension tube followed by a clear filter, and then used two tripods to line up the camera and scope eyepiece as close as possible. Since this was a loose fit, it's possible the camera was not perfectly aligned with the scope.
  • Used an artificial star (foil with pinhole + LED flashlight) indoors about 10m away

My sense of the results are:
  • The rings look mostly concentric, maybe slightly oval but I am not sure if that could be due to camera/scope misalignment.
  • The inner focus rings look pretty good.
  • The outer focus rings are difficult to see, and is brighter on the outside, possibly a sign of overcorrected SA. There's also redish/purple ring that I don't know what that could indicate.
  • There is a slight vertical line, possibly from the prism, which seems common to Kowas