• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New Spotting Scope (2 Viewers)

Hello,
I am new to bird watching and have been having a great time over the last few weeks out and about with my binoculars, but feel that a scope would be better suited for some of the places that I visit as they are quite open costal areas and large inland waterways and the birds can sometimes be a bit further out especially at low tide.
I am a bit lost as to what size and make of scope to go for and was wondering if anyone would care to offer advice on what would be suitable and where to buy it?
I am based in Glasgow and I have not managed to find any shops that have display models that I can check out myself.
My budget is not set and I dont mind paying for the right scope as I appreciate quality glass will not come cheap.
Best Regards,
Martin.

Last edited:
Work out how much weight you’re happy carrying and the sort of birding you want to do. Having a big scope that can reach far is of no use if you don’t want to carry it around. 60mm or so aperture and a power upto around 40x with a reasonably stiff tripod with a fluid head on should show you plenty. Others can chip in with specific models, don’t ignore secondhand as there are several companies selling kit for less than new, I picked up a scope this way.
Many will advise to try before you buy, but sometimes that’s not possible, so I’ve used the varied reactions of people on the forum to help distill which models deliver, which may have issues with glasses wearers, which companies have the best reputation and reliability etc.