• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Choosing my first spotting scope, budget around 1000€ (2 Viewers)

raconma

Spain
Hi I'm new in the spotting scope's world. I have being doing a research and Kite sp 82 seems like a nice telescope in this budget. I've seen that it has two eyepieces 25-50x and 20-60x, but I don't know which one is better. If anyone can help me choosing between the two eyepieces or if anyone could send me any other recommendations around this budget I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

first of all, welcome to BF!

I would strongly recommend to get the ED version if it is possible. I would rather save up for a few months or get sth used.
If you insist on the non-ed version, which will show image degradation beyond 35 or 40x due to... physics (longitudinal chromatic aberration to be precise), the 25-50x wide angle zoom will be a lot better than the 20-60x regular one in the absence of a 30x wide fixed EP, which is the best option for non-ED full size scopes.

Joachim

The 25-50x indeed has a much larger FOV than the 20-60x. It's a good eyepiece, but a.o. with some more distortion than I'm used to. (Not a huge issue. Mainly noticeable when panning, or if the background is some building/straight lines.) You could always 'upgrade' later to the 25-50x from Swarovski if you would want to. (I have the Kite SP82ED and Swarovski eyepieces fit on it, without adapter. To be checked, but I assume that should still be the case. They don't fit the KSP80HD though.)
The SP82 and SP82ED also have a different optical design, as the SP82 is longer than the SP82ED.