• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie (1 Viewer)

Corymk

United States
Newbie here. I am currently using a pair of Maven B1's 10x42 but after looking through my buddies Leica noctovids for a week I am looking to upgrade to alpha glass. I'm super torn between a pair of swaro El 10x42 and a pair of NL pure 12x42. I have felt like I needed a little more magnification at times and I've heard that you can hand hold the NL 12's really well. I also have a tripod thay I use occasionally. The only thing holding me back is the cost difference. Any advice will be appreciated

Hi Cory and a warm welcome from me too. I've moved your post to the Binocular forum, as I feel you'll get the advice you need there. Some idea of your budget would be helpful though.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I hope to hear about all the birds you see when out and about.

For longer distance views a spotting scope might be a better option, some things will always be out of bino reach and the higher the power of binoculars the harder to hold them steady. The steadier the view the more details you’ll see. I normally use a pair of 8x for scanning and finding things and then a spotter for the detail, though I’ve caught myself only using the spotter sometimes if things are mainly in the distance.

Peter

Personally I'd take Leica Ultravids, or Noctivids over either of those two.
Its a personal opinion of course.... many would go the other way.

Welcome to the forum