• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Review: Zeiss Victory SF 10x32 (1 Viewer)

You are welcome Grial. Unfortunately I never tried an FL 10x32 so I can't make a comparison other than to comment that the SF's fov of 130m is a substantial improvement over the FL's 120m giving it an area of view 17% larger.

Lee
Hey. I'm new to this so go easy please. But i read that with field flattener lenses a larger actual fov was needed to make it APPEAR to have a similar AFOV? In other words the AFOV is roughly identical and the immersiveness/user experience is the same in the FL/SF.

As we await Lee's reply... (I'd speculate that he would lean toward the 8x) I have both 8x32 and 10x32 SFs and will say from my experience that I prefer neither, generally - they each serve quite well depending simply on the magnification level that you typically prefer as an individual. The two binoculars are practically identical in size, shape, weight, and function - I have to look at the label, when picking one of them up, to know which one it is.

In regular daylight they both appear as similarly bright to each other and to my 10x42 SFs. I enjoy having both, and use them more often than I choose my 10x42 SFs, which seem quite large and heavy in comparison to the 32s.

For longer distance viewing and for greater magnification, of course the 10x32 serves that application better.

For a more hand-held stability and larger field of view, the 8x32 is my preferred "all-arounder".

If I were forced to choose, I would likely lean toward the 8x32 for the greater hand-held stability and greater field of view.