• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Unidentified Terns - Lake Victoria, Entebbe, Uganda (12.iii.2019) (1 Viewer)

Cabintom

Hi all! I'm new to birding, and as I live in DRCongo and frequently travel to Uganda & Kenya, there are apparently lots of species to see.

A little over a week ago I was down in Entebbe, Uganda where, among other birds, I snapped a few pictures of this flock of unidentified terns.

https://download.ams.birds.cornell.edu/api/v1/asset/146813731/1800

https://download.ams.birds.cornell.edu/api/v1/asset/146813701/1800

I have "Birds of Africa south of the Sahara, 2nd Ed." by Sinclair & Ryan, but I haven't been able to narrow the ID down past Gull-billed Terns, Whiskered Terns or White-winged Terns. Maybe it's a mixed flock? The variation between individuals, especially those perched, is leading me to confusion.

They are 'Marsh' Terns which includes Black, White-winged Black and Whiskered Terns. I can certainly see several White-winged Black Terns, but in amongst the others, I'm not sure...

The first photo includes mostly White-winged Black Terns (also known as White-winged Terns), with 2 clear Whiskered Terns on the extreme right of the image (those with the black hood); there are a few other candidates for Whiskered there, (those that appear to have a longer bill) but cannot confirm those from this image.