• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wheatear help - Fuerteventura (1 Viewer)

fatpigeon

Canada
Recently cam across 2 wheatears in Jandia park north of Costa Calma, Fuerteventura, Canaries. Being from Canada, I have little experience with wheatears, especially since Northern, Isabelline and Desert have been seen here. The grey one I'm almost certain is a Northern but I'm not as positive on the beige one. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 2J6A0495 (2).jpg
    2J6A0495 (2).jpg
    170.2 KB · Views: 118
  • 2J6A0661 (2).jpg
    2J6A0661 (2).jpg
    78 KB · Views: 114
  • 2J6A0663 (2).jpg
    2J6A0663 (2).jpg
    139.8 KB · Views: 116
  • 2J6A0664 (2).jpg
    2J6A0664 (2).jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 113
Having never seen a Wheatear in 20 + years I can't help you with this one but I would like to wish you a warm welcome to you from all of us on BirdForum ;)

Isabelline for the last two. The first two give more of a Northern impression but not 100% with these photos.
For me, all are Northern. The only pro Izzy feature is the dark lores, which are shown by non-breeding Northern males.
The extent of the buff on the breast and lack of upright carriage don't seem right, but to be honest the photos aren't really good enough IMHO

For me, all are Northern. The only pro Izzy feature is the dark lores, which are shown by non-breeding Northern males.
The extent of the buff on the breast and lack of upright carriage don't seem right, but to be honest the photos aren't really good enough IMHO