• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zuiko 70-300 (1 Viewer)

mickbe74

Hi all,maybe some one could answer a few questions for me,firstly i have a olympus e410 with which i use a zuiko digital 70-300mm f4.0-5.6 lens,would i be able to get a tele converter for this lens and if i can,what exactly would it do,would it enable me to take pictures at greater distances ?,any advice would be appreciated by a total novice.Thankyou.

Hi Mick. The Olympus EC-14 works with the 70-300 lens and increases the maximum focal length to 425mm, This has the effect of making the subject larger in the frame. It is a very high quality product but there are one or two drawbacks. Firstly it is expensive at over £300. It reduces the maximum aperture of the lens by 1 stop, making it less bright in poor light (I don't use mine in the winter). Finally, the extra reach means that any tiny movement by you or the bird is exaggerated. Unfortunately, the E-410 doesn't have image stabilization to help with movement by the photographer. Using a tripod would help overcome this, though. If you can find somewhere with one in stock they might let you try it on your camera to see how you get on with it.

Here are two shots taken with the 70-300 + EC-14 on my E-510 (your camera with image stabilization). You can decide if it is worth the trouble and expense.

http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/289903/ppuser/53267
http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/289854/ppuser/53267

Ron

Last edited: