• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Kind of n00b assistance (1 Viewer)

LIme85AW11

I have a Canon EOS630 that was given to me because the previous owner, my grandfather, went digital.

He lost the manual, and I'm not a pro photographer, but I'm working in manual mode, and I can change the exposure and shutter speed and what not myself. The auto focus is too loud for my taste (and the birds' tastes as well), which is why I am using manual focus mode. I currently have a skylight filter on the camera, and a 75-300 zoom.

The zoom isn't in that great coniditon, as it sat in a FL house for a while. It has a few mold spots, which can be "cured" by sitting in the sun, I have been told, but I am also interested in perhaps going for a larger zoom and maybe a tripod.

If anyone has any suggestions about what is more compatible with this camera, please let me know.

My grandfather's health is failing, and I want to get better as quickly as possible so that I may show him what I can do with the camera he gave me; he is excited that I like both birds (which my mom and I have always liked) and photography...so you know how it goes. I figure this is better than being depressed about his health.

Hi Erica, sorry to hear about your grandfather's health... I'm sure your photos will cheer him up.
I'm not familiar with your particular camera... canon often gives camera's different names for different markets.