• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Budget of $1500 - 2000...recommendations? (1 Viewer)

AJP

First off, I'm very, very new to alpha binoculars. Actually, I'm rather new to binoculars, period (about two years). I've been using a $130 pair of Eagle Optic Radians but have recently become more serious about ornithology and would like to invest in a really high-end pair that will last me for the next ten years or so. I'm a big believer in putting money into a high-quality product, but that said, my budget is around $1,500, or $2,000 tops. (Those Swarovski's are sadly out of reach.)

It seems that MSRP Swarovski, Lecia, and Zeiss are all above this price range, although I see that Eagle Optics sells demo versions of some that do bring the price down slightly. I'm not opposed to buying secondhand, but the problem is that you've got to try them in person!

About myself: I wear eyeglasses (always), have slightly smaller hands, and don't want something terribly heavy (nor do I want compacts) because of Fibromyalgia (the harness has helped a great deal with this). I mainly bird during the day.

I've heard some good things about Zeiss Victory FL and Conquest HD, so am looking into these a bit more seriously. I read that 7x and 8xare very nice, and yet most brands only seem to carry 8x42s! 10x will be too large and heavy for me.

I wondered if anyone had recommendations for something within my price range?

Last edited:
I read that 7x and 8xare very nice, and yet most brands only seem to carry 8x42s! 10x will be too large and heavy for me.