• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Harmonizing North American and British Bird Names (1 Viewer)

mattpau

I'm quite new to BF. I imagine this has come up for discussion before but I was wondering how people feel about making the English language bird names the same on both sides of the Atlantic, e.g. have only one name for each of Black-bellied/Grey Plover, Red/Grey Phalarope, Bank Swallow/Sand Martin, Oldsquaw/Long-tailed Duck. Wait a minute - that last one's already been done (somewhat to my chagrin)! Is this the "thin edge of the wedge", i.e. part of a gradual changeover to British names for our North American birds that are also found in the Old World? Does anyone have any inside information as to whether the AOU is contemplating something like this? Personally I wouldn't really mind except that I can't imagine calling loons divers, the loon (with that name) being such a symbol of Canada. Is international consistency in names indeed desirable? If so, how would British birders feel, in a spirit of compromise, about changing some of their long-standing names?

Hi Mattpau: I had the same problem when I got here starting with the loon After many good natured debates on the loon/northern diver issue I just accept that it's the same bird.Some here have chosen to use the scientific names to communicate a specie.So now a loon is a gavia immer also.Be prepared to look at those long neglected latin name pages in the back of your field guide.Thanks for reminding me that the loon is your national bird.I always look forward to its passing through Ohio on migration.
Sam

Well Paul,