• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice on purchasing my first spotting scope (1 Viewer)

my_marquee

I'm a plant biologist whose work is focused more on the genetics of invasive species than the biology and ecology of birds. However, my long time mentor has recently given me five hundred dollars as a graduation present, with the stipulation that I use the money towards something permanent ('Don't blow it on espresso', which seems to be good advice.). I was first introduced to the joys of birding by Terry himself, and I've long wanted to explore the wonderful activity, yet only recently have found the time to do so. It seems entirely appropriate to invest the generous gift in a good spotting scope, yet I am uncertain of what direction to go in purchasing said scope.

I find myself lost as to how to use this amazing gift most appropriately after looking over the dizzying cascade of websites advertising advice and equipment. My own fieldwork often involves standing on hilltops and conducting on-the-ground evaluations of invasive species spread, so I will likely use this new scope in my own schoolwork. I've looked over the Nikon, Pentax and other company product lines, yet can't seem to locate an appropriate scope in my price range.